Cincinnati, You are Invited

Cincyopolis-readers, you are invited to be part of something bigger than yourself.

You are invited to come out from behind your computer screens, your tablets, turn-off your smart phones for a few hours and share the same space with other like-minded human beings in real time.

You are invited to celebrate dragon slaying and windmill tilting, the hero’s quest and all the possibilities most people believe can never happen.

On Thursday, June 4, from 6-8:00 pm, I’ve decided to violate one of my cardinal rules in life:  “Kathy Holwadel Does Not Entertain,” a perfectly good rule I put into place after I broke a glass in my last complete set of matching wine goblets a few years back.

But that was before I started cincyopolis, before I decided to get involved, not just passively accept corporate priorities and political expediencies any more, rationalize my civic laziness with excuses about why I was too busy and what could I do anyway, before I determined to re-imagine my responsibility as a citizen of the city I love and start to think for myself.  During the past 12 months I’ve connected with so many talented, caring, brave, bold thinkers I had to break my own rule, because if you could see what I’ve seen – how strong we are – how amazing -, you wouldn’t doubt for a minute what we can accomplish together, the kind of community we can make here at this bend in a beautiful river.

So before I take-off to spend the summer in Italy, I’m inviting you to my house.  Where the wine glasses will never match.  My friend, Elliot, is making the food.  I’ll run by the Party Source and pick-up a wide variety of cold beverages.  If the weather is nice, we’ll sit on the roof and watch barges, point out the buildings I’ve been writing about from way up high.

Since my building (400 Pike St., 45202 – right next to the Taft Museum) has one of those fancy-schmancy doormen, email me at executive.dreamer@gmail.com so I can put your name on the list of attendees. We’ve got room for a hundred.

You are invited to be a part of something bigger than yourself.  Cincyopolis survived its first year.  Let’s celebrate.

7 thoughts on “Cincinnati, You are Invited

  1. Jeffrey McClorey

    I doubt I can make it as I am playing in a golf outing that day and I think it includes dinner….if I get out in time, I’ll certainly drop in! If not, lets plan a lunch or something prior to your departure for the summer. Thanks, j

    Jeffrey J. McCloreyPresidentThe Bromwell Company ~ Est. 1819117 West Fourth Street Cincinnati, Ohio 45202 513-621.0620 OFFICE513-621.3186 FAXjjmcclorey@hotmail.com http://www.bromwells.com

    Date: Fri, 29 May 2015 12:34:33 +0000 To: jjmcclorey@hotmail.com

    Reply
  2. Tim

    You are bold! Got a conflict otherwise I would come to compliment you on your work. Thanks.
    Tim McCarthy

    Reply
  3. Mark Sackett

    Hi Kathy,

    I’ve been following your blog posts for a few weeks now and I’m fascinated by the research and background you are sharing about our city. I’d love to be included, if there is still room, and perhaps my Kathy could join as well? Parking won’t be an issue – just let me know if that will work. Regardless – keep on keeping on.

    Mark Sackett (712 PPL)

    (513) 218-7240 mobile

    Reply
  4. Kathleen Kennedy

    I’ve just discovered your blog, and oh-so wish I could attend. It is my husband’s birthday that evening, and I think he would be upset if I ditched him. I hope there is another social event planned in the future! I am a Cincinnati native, and am back in school for a Masters in Public Administration hoping to be more involved in the inner workings of Cincinnati. This would be right up my alley!

    Reply
    1. executivedreamer Post author

      We’ve got a couple of events I’m planning for the fall and winter. Cincyopolis field trips will be excursions to different neighborhoods and their development corporations, followed by lunch at a local establishment. I’m also trying to set up a Sidewalk Summit to gather folks together to rethink our philosophy of these important transportation corridors in a more walk-able world.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

